Birch bark texture.


3 Exemplary Shareholders Recognized at Annual Meeting

Congratulations to our 2015 Recognition Awardees:

  • Christopher Gene (Elder of the Year)
  • John Craig (Board Member of the Year)
  • John F. Ewan (Youth of the Year)

Christopher Gene and John Ewan will represent the Ahtna region as Elder and Youth Representative, respectively, at this year’s Alaska Federation of Natives Convention. John Craig ends a distinguished run as a long-time Ahtna board member. Ahtna is very thankful to each awardee for their hard work, dedication, and commitment to the Ahtna region, people, and villages.

The awardees were recognized at Ahtna’s 42nd Annual Meeting, held in Glennallen on June 6, 2015.

*Also recognized were Phillip Sabon, the Copper River Native Association Elder of the Year, and Molly Galbreath, the longest-serving member of the Mentasta Successor Village Organization (SVO), having been a member of the SVO since it’s inception in 1980.