Lupine wildflowers in a field.Wooden trim

Board of Directors

Ahtna, Inc. (Ahtna) operates under the direction of a thirteen-member board. In 1980, seven of the eight Village Corporations in the Ahtna Region chose to merge with Ahtna. Chitina Village Corporation chose not to merge and therefore does not have a designated village seat on the Ahtna board, but their shareholders are eligible to run for at-large seats as long as they also hold voting shares of Ahtna.

All board members are Ahtna shareholders and are voted in by fellow shareholders at the annual meeting. A class of four to five directors is typically elected each year, with directors serving for staggered three-year terms.

  • Six seats, with one seat to be elected by holders of voting class stock from each of the following villages: Cantwell, Cheesh’na, Gakona, Gulkana, Mentasta, and Tazlina
  • Two seats to be elected by holders of Kluti-Kaah voting class stock, and
  • Five “At-Large” seats to be elected by holders of all classes of voting stock

Board members come from a variety of backgrounds and bring many key strengths and professional and personal experiences to Ahtna. They reflect the unity of the Ahtna region and people, and make balanced and informed decisions that are in alignment with the mission and vision of the corporation and the best interests of current and future Ahtna shareholders.

Nicholas Jackson Udzisyu (Caribou)Chair, Seat A: At-Large (2026)

Karen Linnell Naltsiine (Sky) Vice-Chair, Seat-A: At-Large (2024)

Genevieve John

Genevieve John Tsisyu (Paint) Secretary, Seat A: At Large (2024)
Ahtna Netiye’ Executive Committee Member

Linda Pete Udzisyu (Caribou) Treasurer, Seat F: Gakona (2025)
Ahtna Netiye’ Executive Committee Treasurer

Ken Johns

Ken Johns Udzisyu (Caribou) Seat G1: Kluti-Kaah (2026)

Lucille Lincoln Director, Seat G2: Kluti-Kaah (2024)

Susan Taylor Udzisyu (Caribou) Director, Seat A: At-Large (2025)

Clint Marshall Udzisyu (Caribou) Director, Seat J: Tazlina (2026)
Ahtna Netiye’ Executive Committee Vice Chair

Cecil Sanford

Cecil Sanford Naltsiine (Sky)Seat H: Mentasta Lake (2024)
Ahtna Netiye’ Executive Committee Secretary

Jessica Denny ‘Ałts’e’tnaey (One Way People) Director, Seat D: Cheesh’na (2025)

Close up of traditional Alaska native bead work with an ivory carved feather bead.

Grant Rebne Udzisyu (Caribou) Director, Seat C: Cantwell (2026) Ahtna Netiye’ Executive Committee Member

Jason B. Hart Naltsiine (Sky) Director, Seat A: At-Large (2025) Ahtna Netiye’ Executive Committee Chair

John Dye

John Dye Tsisyu (Paint) Director, Seat I: Gulkana (2024)

Close up of traditional Alaska native bead work.