There are eight villages within the Ahtna region: Cantwell, Chistochina, Chitina, Copper Center, Gakona, Gulkana, Mentasta and Tazlina; all eight are Federally Recognized Tribes.

As part of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act of 1971, seven of the eight villages merged with Ahtna, Inc. Chitina Native Corporation remains an independent entity. Ahtna has developed an MOU with Chitina Native Corporation to further mutual interests in the region. Learn more about Chitna Native Corporation »

Each is unique but all are connected by the values and traditions of the Ahtna people and culture. Learn more about our villages by using the interactive map below.